THE FOLLOWING IS TAKEN FROM
THE TOUR GUIDEBOOK
CONDUCTED October 11-12,2008
This classic Foursquare home was built in 1904-1905 for Thomas and Agnes Grim. As co-owner of Grim-Ganahl Lumber, Grim could afford the finest of building materials, and that is apparent with a visit to the home.
The Grims raised two daughters in the home, and remained there for their lives. The daughters sold the home to Dr. Catherine Mary Margaret O’Brien and her brother Gerald.
The house was originally located at Lincoln Avenue and Melrose Street, and was eventually acquired by the City and used for Neighborhood Preservation Department offices for years before being moved to its present location on Vintage Lane, where it sits among neighbors that have also been relocated.
Previous owners Ron and BettyJack Waltz began the restoration, but were unable to move into the house.
The home was recently purchased by sisters Carol and Helen Garner. The Garners are serial restorers, having completed multiple “old house rescues” in the Anaheim Colony, with this being their largest project so far. The Garners were recipients of the 2008 Margaret Atkins memorial Preservation Award from the Anaheim Historical Society, presented at our annual banquet.
The Grim House is open for the tour as a “hard hat” house,
encouraging other homeowners in mid-project. We see the
“before and during” at this year’s tour, and hopefully we will be
invited back to see the “after” in the future.
This Queen Anne Victorian was built for John H. Clabaugh and his wife Julia in 1889. John worked as the city’s railroad agent and station master.
At the time, the home was the only residence structure on the block, its only neighbor was the elegant Hotel Del Campo across the street, which later made way for smaller residential development.
The three bedroom home was a busy place, providing shelter for John, Julia, and their children, Elise, Roy, Ernest, Lillian, Rose, Henry, Ada, and Julia’s sister Emma, a dressmaker.
Over time the house fell into disrepair, and by the time the current owner, Steve Goodyear, found the house, it was an abandoned relic, with vagrants living in and under the house. But the empty shell was the perfect project for Steve, who also owns Roseville, a period design company
“Over the top” is the only way to describe Steve’s Victorian eye for exuberance, as every corner of the home has been painted, papered, fringed, and laced. It is quite possible that the home is more Victorian today than under the care of Julia Clabaugh, and the result is breathtaking.
This classic California bungalow was built in 1913
from a design directed by homeowner Adele Spoerl
Kellenberger, and executed by notable Santa Ana
architect Frederick Eley, and is on the National
Register of Historic Places.
Adele began the house project as a widow, but
eventually married John Kellenberger, Anaheim’s
marshall from 1911 to 1918. Marshall Kellenberger
was shot breaking up a saloon fight, but fortunately
survived the wounds to greet his infant son months
This Craftsman bungalow has many fine
architectural details: decorative braces and
latticework vents accent the front and side gables.
Exposed rater tails with stair step notching line the
eaves. The clapboard siding consists of wide
boards alternating with two thin boards in a
decorative pattern. A specially lovely and unusual
feature is the exquisite leaded glass in the transoms
above the picture windows, trimming the house
front with rows of stylized tulips and green leaves.
And, of course, a pergola opens from the dining
room to the outside.
The home has been in the Kellenberger family for three generations, with
granddaughter Jackie Frahm as the current owner and steward of the home. The
home is unique in that it retains its original features – all of them. From the original
woodwork, light fixtures, and even wallpaper, to the 1920s era contents of the kitchen
junk drawer, the home remains as if John and Adele Kellenberger had just stepped
out for a trip to one of Anaheim’s many fine downtown businesses and might return at
Furnishings include a Tonk piano, one of the leading manufacturers of upright pianos at the time, as well as Chinese curios given to Kellenberger by residents of Anaheim’s China Town who enjoyed the protection of the marshall. The deep yard is liberally planted – from the decorative such as roses, azaleas, camellias, hibiscus, geraniums, and Japanese irises to the eatable such as loquats, guavas, grapes, peaches, apricots, persimmons, and figs. With many original plantings still growing well, it is a reminder of the typical yard a prosperous merchant in Anaheim would have during the early 1900s.
A visit to the Kellenberger house is a rare treat and a step back in time to Anaheim’s
This eclectic cottage combines the best of Queen Anne Victorian of the 19th century and the Craftsman movement of the 20th century in a remarkable home.
Originally built in 1890 for Anaheim pioneers
Herman Dickel and Rose Schmidt Dickel, this
Queen Anne cottage was located at the southeast
corner of today’s Pearson Park. After the family
sold the 20-acre property to the City for
development of the park in the 1920s, the house
was moved to its current location on Citron between
Broadway and Santa Ana Street. Developer
William W. Crone (Crone Street is named for him)
added Craftsman elements popular at the time and,
shortly afterward, he added a second floor for his
family of five.
The home is now the residence of Lonny and Helen
Myers and their family who have lovingly renovated
the house, maintaining both its Victorian roots with
the later Arts and Crafts elements that reflect the
history of the house and its owners
Inside, the Myers’ collection of antiques mixes with
Victorian Revival wallpapers and accessories to
create a comfortable and charming home. The
Crone family additions are seen in the front entry,
where the original entry became a closet, complete
with telephone shelf. The bay window was filled in
by Crone, and a bank of French doors now floods
the living room with light. Through the archway,
the dining room hearth is original to the house. The
high ceilings and enormous double hung windows
keep the house comfortable in even the hottest
weather. Original woodwork and hardware mix
with Helen’s soft color palette and Lonny’s
handyman projects for a truly unique home.
in 1929 at a cost of $4,500 for Harry Akerman and
his wife Yuarda. Harry co-owned Akerman and
Elliott, a service station on West Center Street,
roughly where Disney Ice now stands. At the time,
the home was one story in height, and was reported
to be the second home in the area built for the
Akermans. The first, located on the next block, was
identical in design, but the owner wanted the house
set further from the lot line, and reportedly had this
one built after selling the first. The one story “twin”
can still be seen on Indiana Street.After the Akermans sold the home, the house went
through several owners before becoming the home
of the Arkyns family. The Arkyns created the
second floor addition in the mid 1980s, matching
details of the original home with such precision that
the lines of new and old blur. Former owner and
Anaheim Historical Society member Gail Kramer
put her own touches on the home before selling to
Chris and Christie Maya, the current owners.
benefit the Anaheim Historic Society. Together, Chris and Christie have decorated the home to reflect the aesthetics and mood of a
classic 1920s Spanish Colonial Revival home, using early California paintings, era prints, and Mexican folk art.
Ready-Cut Style #478. It was built in 1923 for
George and Nettie Dieham, Iowa farmers who
retired to Anaheim and watched their home being
constructed board by board. The Diehams lived
in the home the remainder of their lives.
California. Other companies, perhaps most notably the Pacific Read-Cut company of Los Angeles, offered catalogs of houses to potential
homeowners here in the west. In fact, over 37,000 Pacific Ready-Cut
homes were sold from 1908 to 1940, and they can be found today in
virtually every community in Southern California with bungalow
neighborhoods.The house pieces, about 12,000 pieces of pre-cut lumber, plus paint, roofing
shingles, built-in cabinets, lighting, electrical wiring, and even the kitchen sink would arrive by railroad boxcar to be trucked to the building site. A carpenter or even a homeowner of average ability would then assemble the home’s individually numbered pieces using a 75-page instruction booklet.
wife Julia in 1921 for $2,000. Mr. Oelke, a tractor
operator, sold the home in 1924, and it became a
rental for several years before being purchased by Rush and Pearl Grange. The Grange family owned and operated the Home Oil Company, with headquarters nearby on Broadway at Manchester Avenue. The Granges enclosed the front porch in 1932, using original materials so that the addition is nearly undetectable. Rush Grange also excavated a basement beneath the house and overlaid a sunroom on the space above. Over time, the Grange family sold the home and it became a rental again, with tenants imposing their own often unfortunate choices
on the house.Jennifer Gandy purchased the home and put her own creative stamp on the house, creating a fabulous art deco bathroom from what had been a closet! The home appeared inAmerican Bungalow Magazine and Mary Engelbreit’s Home Companion. Jennifer married Dan Harrison, and together they continued restoring the home, inspired by the bright colors of the 1950s.
NOTE: The Home Oil Company building (on Broadway and Hessel), owned by the Grange family, was recently saved from the
bulldozers by a group of preservationists, including the Anaheim Historical Society. The City hopes to design a public park
around the site.