The Vineyard Heritage Association draws its name and identity from the Los Angeles Vineyard Society which, with the
determination and perseverance of 50 German families, founded and settled Anaheim in 1857. Most of the homes in this
neighborhood were built between 1920 and 1940, although a few homes built before or after these dates are sprinkled
throughout the area. The predominant architectural styles of our earlier homes are English Tutor, Spanish Colonial,
Mediterranean and Mission Revival, Provincial Revival, and California Bungalows.
This tour will feature homes throughout the neighborhood from the 1920’s to the 1930’s. Each home will have its own unique
distinction in architectural features such as stained glass windows, built in cabinetry, hardwood floors, doors, molding, original lighting and bathroom fixtures, lush landscaping, and many nooks and crannies.
and fellow Anaheim pioneer Louis Kroeger operated a very successful mens
clothing store on Center Street in old Anaheim whose membership emblem
was the “Don’t Worry Club.” In 1930 Mr. Yungbluth was able to build this
magnificent Spanish Colonial house.
Six original sconces dot the walls and two serpentine plaster columns grace
the fireplace. Adjoining the living room is a office which includes a
“disappearing bed.” The owners hope to restore the room to its original
colors which were found hidden in the enclosure for this bed.
first occupied by Frank J. Oelke (one of the many Oelkes who resided here
during the early years of Anaheim). In 1925 it was purchased by Ross and
Pearl Grange who lived in the home until the 1970’s. The house then fell
into disrepair at the hands of various short term owners and renters over
the next two decades. In April of 1990 Beale Dabbs and Jacqueline
Orzechowski purchased the house and began its current restoration and
bungalow: front porch, large overhanging eaves, built-ins and fir
woodwork throughout. The rear half of the home was extended in the
1930’s to include a small dining room and laundry room. The kitchen and
bathroom were also remodeled at this time. The bathroom received a
beautiful art deco tile treatment, making this room one of the highlights
of the house. An uncommon feature is a finished basement added
underneath the 1930s addition. Most houses built in California at this
time had only small unfinished cellars.
This charming 2 bedroom cottage was built in 1927 as a retirement home for a
German couple. Typical of catalog homes of this period, every 2 X 4 and plank is
numbered and was delivered by railroad. The owner having never owned a car
walked to his job as a custodian at the nearby Anaheim theater.
the hardwood floors and the kitchen. The demolition of a tiny garage has allowed
construction to begin on a garage, workshop, and second story family room with
full bath. The addition is accessible from the back yard.
French doors. Inside, sun drenched living and dining rooms are highlighted by
full length French windows and a carpenter style sideboard. At the north end
of the living room, the fireplace was removed leaving the original ceramic
hearth which will be restored. Future plans also include restoration of the
original entrance, front door, and bathroom plus creation of an old fashion
This lovely house was built in 1930 for $4,500. The original owners, Marion and
Eva Fort had no remaining funds after completion of the construction. Marion’s
parents gave him $50.00 for a birthday pre
sent, and Eva, being a wonderful
seamstress spent the money on curtain material and made curtains for the entire
the neighborhood for many years. The garden has more than 400 baskets, pots,
staghorn ferns, etc. Ruth says “This is a great hobby as you get older”. This
house won the Anaheim Beautiful Award two times, once in 1977 and again in
1989. Both times it was mentioned that it was an old house which displayed much
tender, loving care.
prominent Anaheim family. One family member owned Heyling Pharmacy on
what is now Lincoln and Anaheim Blvd., and another served for many years
as a Captain of the Anaheim Fire Department.
accomplished several major restoration projects including plumbing and
electrical overhauls. The current owners bought the house in 1989 and have
continued its renovation focusing on the landscaping and interior decor.
house to one of the area’s truly unique homes. The front door of this English
Tudor home features a latched window that opens to welcome in guests. Once
inside, the visitor coved living room ceiling and other unique features of this
Councilman and successful rancher. Originally located at the corner of
Anaheim Blvd )Then Los Angeles street) and Vermont, in 1956 it was moved
to its present location. In the move the roof structure was removed to the
second floor ceiling height and discarded! Only the clay tiles were saved. In
1984 the present owners researched the historical background of the house
and located photographs showing its original style and architectural detail.
The restoration of the roof was completed in 1987.
porch, entrance door, fireplace mantle, dining room built in cabinets, etc.
The most impressive example is the three arch stained glass panorama of
the San Luis Rey Mission on the upstairs landing.
tank in the adjoining toilet room. An oval pedestal sink and claw foot bathtub are located in another upstairs bathroom
Bernard Hatfield, a local jeweler. The home is located on its original site
and beautifully represents the era in which it was built. If offers coved
ceilings, hardwood floors, French doors, extensive use of mahogany trim,
and as with the home next door a theme of three arches on the exterior and
on the doors leading into the dining room. Another special feature to the
home are the paired stained glass windows in the entry way, the kitchen,
and the master bedroom.
nook which was converted to a small den, an entertainment room, and a
formal dining room.
living room and entry way. The current owners moved into the home just a few months ago. Lucky that the house had been so
well cared for by its previous owners they have not had to do any major restoration work, but an busy inviting newfound
neighborhood friends into their home and adding touches that reflect their own personalities and tastes.
|330 SOUTH OHIO
downtown Anaheim, this Mediterranean Revival home was flanked on the north
and south by gardens of ancient elm, oak, and Brazilian pepper trees on a 16,000
square foot lot. The Kustiners resided in the room over the garage while the
main house was being built. Later, in the 1920’s this room was converted into a
to its original grandeur. Built as a 3 bedroom 1 bath home, a second bathroom
was carved from a closet and corner of one of the bedrooms in the 1970’s.
Recently this bathroom has been renovated with period lighting and plumbing
fixtures to duplicate the feel of the 1920s.
the living and dining rooms, and 10 foot ceilings.
period cabinetry, oak flooring, and new counters
his wife Minnie. The Chillot’s had been ranchers in Fullerton prior to
building the house and moved to Orange in 1945 to once again pursue
ranching. Jess E. and Maria C. Long purchased the house in 1945.
Subsequent owners included the Nador family and their daughter Dorothy
Pier and her husband Nicholas.
including its steeply pitched pyramidal roof with flared overhanging eaves,
an arched picture window, and elaborate roof and door pediments. The
interior boasts a stately living room with oak flooring and original mahogany
molding. The large formal dining room has coved ceiling, French doors, and
leaded glass casement windows. The two vintage bathrooms have the original
tile and fixtures. Other distinctive features include a cedar-lined hall closet,
an original “mud’ room, and a formal entry hall with side closets flanking the